4 Rules To Decide Whether To Play Bg5 Pin Or Not
Strategy Tactics & Calculation

4 Rules To Decide Whether To Play Bg5 Pin Or Not

4 Rules To Decide Whether To Play Bg5 Pin Or Not

Very often, we see chess players developing their bishop in the opening stage by playing Bg5/Bg4, pinning the opponent’s knight. However, it can become a costly mistake if played at the wrong time.

But here’s the trick: how do you decide whether to play Bg5/Bg4, pinning your opponent’s knight, or to develop the bishop to another square or fianchetto it? In other words, when is it okay to play the pin and when is it a strategic or tactical mistake?

That is exactly what I’ll explain in this video lesson. You will learn the two main rules to determine when it is NOT a good choice to pin your opponent’s knight with your bishop, and two situations/positions when playing the Bg5/Bg4 pin is completely fine.

Additionally, you will learn the common ways to punish this pin if your opponent plays it at the wrong time. You will learn both the strategic and tactical ways to punish this error.

Below, you can find the examples shown in the video:

I hope you enjoy reading this blog post.

If you want GM Igor Smirnov to help you get better at chess, watch this Masterclass.

Free Training

Swipe Up to Get Better at Chess!
How Do GMs Find the Best Moves? Improve FASTER at Chess
Watch Now
Close