Wordpress Featured Image (5)
Chess rules

Can You Have Two Queens in Chess? The Pawn Promotion Dilemma

Can You Have Two Queens in Chess? The Pawn Promotion Dilemma

Chess is a game that has been played for centuries and has evolved into a complex and strategic game. One of the many questions that often come up in chess is whether or not you can have two queens on the board. The short answer is yes, but only in certain circumstances.


Maybe you are kind of a beginner chess player who loves moving all your pawns forward and wonders: What if I go till the end of the board?
☉ So, it is better for you to be prepared for magic… Look here what happens when your pawn reaches the last file

 


When a pawn reaches the opposite end of the board, it can be promoted to any piece, including a queen. If a player already has a queen on the board, they can choose to promote another pawn to a queen, resulting in having two queens on the board. However, this is the only way to have two queens in chess according to the rules of the game.

👁️ Those who invented chess considered that just one queen was enough. That is why they endowed her with the maximum powers! When you get a second queen in a chess game, you can checkmate your opponent without even thinking about it.

FIDE Rules on Having Two Queens in Chess

The FIDE (Fédération Internationale des Échecs) is the international organization that governs the rules of chess. According to the FIDE rules, a player can have 2 queens on the board only through pawn promotion. Once a pawn reaches the opposite end of the board, the player can choose to promote it to any piece, including a queen. If the player already has a queen on the board, they can still promote another pawn to a queen, resulting in having two queens on the board.

FAQs

Can you start the game with two queens on the board?

No, according to the rules of chess, each player starts the game with only one queen on the board.

What happens if you capture your opponent’s queen and then promote a pawn to a queen?

If you capture your opponent’s queen, you can promote a pawn to a queen, resulting in having two queens on the board.

Can you have 3 queens in chess?

It is possible to have two, three, and theoretically up to nine queens in chess as there are no rules prohibiting it. However, in practical games, it is rare to witness the presence of nine queens on the board

Can I promote a pawn to a king?

No, promoting a pawn to a king is not allowed as it would violate the rule that each player can only have one king on the board.

Conclusion

In conclusion, you can have two queens on the board in chess, but only through pawn promotion. According to the FIDE rules, each player starts the game with only one queen on the board, and if a player already has a queen on the board, they can still promote another pawn to a queen. Having two queens on the board can be very advantageous.

I hope you enjoy reading this blog post.

If you want GM Igor Smirnov to help you get better at chess, watch this Masterclass.

Free Training

Swipe Up to Get Better at Chess!
How Do GMs Find the Best Moves? Improve FASTER at Chess
Watch Now
Close